APRIL 2015 VOL. 25 NO. 2

The 31st AAPPS Council Meeting

AAPPS OFFICERS



The first row (left to right): Han-Yong Choi, Monika Raharti, Ching-Ray Chang, Robert Robinson, Shoji Nagamiya, Seunghwan Kim, Gui-Lu Long, Mitsuru Kikuchi, Swee-Ping Chia, Yoshio Kuramoto, Xing Zhu; the second row (right to left): Sang Pyo Kim, Shi-Xuan Du, Nguyen Quang Liem, Hyoung Joon Choi, Mitsumasa Iwamoto, Leihan Tang, Sow Chorng Haur, Fu-Jen Kao, Leong-Chuan Kwek, Soonkeon Nam.

The 31st council meeting of the Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies (AAPPS) was held at Renaissance Seoul Hotel on February 6-7, 2015, and was hosted by the Korean Physical Society (KPS) and the Asia Pacific Center for Theoretical Physics (APCTP). The meeting was attended by Seunghwan Kim (president), Gui-Lu Long (vice-president), Sang Pyo Kim (secretary), Hyoung Joon Choi (treasurer), Shoji Nagamiya (past president, editor-in-chief of the AAPPS Bulletin) and council members Ching-Ray Chang (PS located in Taipei), Swee-Ping Chia (Malaysian Institute of Physics), Sow Chorng Haur (Institute of Physics, Singapore), Mitsumasa Iwamoto (Japan Society of Applied Physics), Shi-Xuan Du (proxy for Kuijuan Jin, Chinese Physical Society), Fu-Jen Kao (PS located in Taipei), Yoshio Kuramoto (Physical Society of Japan), Nguyen Quang Liem (Vietnam Physical Society), Robert Robinson (Australian Institute of Physics), Xing Zhu (Chinese Physical Society), Monika Raharti (Indonesian Physical Society), and Leihan Tang (Physical Society of Hong Kong). The meeting was observed by Han-Yong Choi (acting president of APCTP), Mitsuru Kikuchi (chair of DPP), Soonkeon Nam (vice-president of KPS), LeongChuan Kwek (past council member, *AAPPS Bulletin* editor), Won Namkung (past editor-in-chief of the *AAPPS Bulletin*), Youngah Park (president of KISTEP), Jun'ichi Yokoyama (deputy editor-in-chief of the *AAPPS Bulletin*), and Jiyong Bak (AAPPS staff member).

After the quorum, the president opened the 31st council meeting and welcomed the council members and observers. The agenda of the 31st council meeting and the minutes of the 30th council meeting in Taipei were adopted. The president proposed the Future Initiative for Physics in Asia Pacific (FIPAP), which included a joint initiative for the future of physics communities in the Asia Pacific (AP) region in areas of collaboration such as nurturing a group of young physics leaders in the AP region, enhancing the visibility and quality of scientific publications in Asia, and building a grand alliance for enhancing physics education. The core activities for FIPAP would include a joint session for young physics leaders at physical society meetings, regular editor's meetings for enhancing the visibility and quality of journals, and a joint campaign for advancing physics education. The president proposed

SOCIETY NEWS AAPPS BULLETIN

to establish a commission to plan and carry out FIPAP, and discussions regarding the FIPAP proposal were held.

Shoji Nagamiya (editor-in-chief of the AAPPS Bulletin) reported the current status of Bulletin publications in 2014 and the online access of back issues Vol. 1-10. He discussed the Bulletin's respective relationships with India, and Asia Pacific Physics Newsletter in Singapore, and reported on the Bulletin's account and some financial issues. There were discussions about the membership fees and hyperlinking the Bulletin website to each society. Hyoung Joon Choi (treasurer) reported the AAPPS's accounting. It was agreed that the council would continue discussing the membership fees through emails.

The following physical societies, who were represented by council members in attendance, reported their current status, their activities in 2014, and their plan for 2016: the Australian Institute of Physics (Robert Robinson), the Chinese Physical Society (Xing Zhu), the Physical Society of Hong Kong (Leihan Tang), the Indonesian Physical Society (Monika Raharti), the Physical Society of Japan (Yoshio Kuramoto), the Japan Society of Applied Physics (Mitsumasa Iwamoto), the Malaysian Institute of Physics (Swee-Ping Chia), the Institute of Physics, Singapore (Sow Chorng Haur), the Physical Society located in Taipei (Fu-Jen Kao), Vietnam National Institute of Physics (Nguyen Quang Liem), and the Korean Physical Society (Soonkeon Nam). There were special reports regarding the activities and plans of APCTP (Han-Yong Choi), and of the AAPPS Working Group on Women in Physics and Gender Summit 6-Asia Pacific (Youngah Park, chair), which will be held in Seoul on August 26-29, 2015. There were oral reports on the Year of Light (Ching-Ray Chang) and IUPAP (Leong-Chuan Kwek).

Mitsuru Kikuchi, the chair of the Division of Plasma Physics (DPP), presented the annual report on the activities of 2014 and the plan to publish the *DPP Journal* in the future. The chair proposed the Chandrasekhar Prize of Plasma Physics, the annual DPP prize, to be endorsed by AAPPS, and the AAPPS council unanimously resolved to endorse the Chandrasekhar Prize without financial obligation. The chair also proposed that the Chandrasekhar laureates, including Setsuo Ichimaru, the first recipient, should be invited to be among the plenary speakers of APPC13 in Brisbane, Australia.

The discussion to establish the Division of Astrophysics, Cosmology and Gravitation (DACG) was started in

2014 under the chairmanship of Misao Sasaki (director of Yukawa Institute for Theoretical Physics) and the application to AAPPS was made in January, 2015. A presentation was made by Sang Pyo Kim (vice chair of DACG) at the AAPPS Council Meeting in February 2015 in Seoul, which addressed the six participating societies of AAPPS, the rules, and the executive committee and advisory committee of DACG. More than two hundred regular members are participating in DACG in its initial stage. The AAPPS council unanimously approved DACG (chair, Misao Sasaki) as the second AAPPS division. The president will ask the president of each society to endorse DACG. The divisions of nuclear physics, quantum information, and physics education are still under formation.

Robert Robinson reported on APPC 13, which would be held in conjunction with the AIP Congress in Brisbane, Australia, on December 4-8, 2016. Halina Rubinsztein is the local organizer from Brisbane. There was a request for a list of plenary speakers and for input from divisions. The registration fee of 700 USD was also discussed and the council suggested that the registration fees could be lowered through other funding mechanisms. There will be a meeting of local organizers in May 2015.

Gui-Lu Long reported on the Asia Europe Physics Summit (ASEPS). The EPS president proposed the continuation of ASEPS in Italy in September 2016. There was a discussion on the continuity of ASEPS in the event that not many participants would attend. The council agreed to discuss the ASEPS issue through emails after an EPS proposal was received. There were reports from task force teams; the Committee for Divisions by Gui-Lu Long and the Committee for AAPPS Publication by Sang Pyo Kim. In compliance with FIPAP by the president, the publication committee proposed a summit of editor-inchiefs of major AP journals at the Korean Physical Society Fall Meeting in Gyeongju on October 21-23, 2015.

Jun'ichi Yokoyama (deputy editor-in-chief of the *AAPPS Bulletin*) put forth a one-dollar campaign for AAPPS; each member shall pay 1 USD as a membership fee of AAPPS through his/her member society, and each member society shall send the money thus collected to AAPPS for the purpose of *Bulletin* expenses and division activities.

It was proposed that the next council meeting would be hosted by the Chinese Physical Society in January or February, 2016. The council meeting was adjourned at 13:30 on February 7, 2015.